List Of Universities That Are NOT Under ASUU- Nigeria 2024/2025

List Of Universities That Are NOT Under ASUU

The educational landscape in Nigeria is often characterized by interruptions caused by union strikes, impacting students’ academic journeys. However, there are universities in the country that operate independently of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), providing a more stable learning environment for students.


What is ASUU and what is its impact on Nigerian universities?

ASUU is a union representing academic staff in Nigerian universities. While its primary objective is to advocate for better working conditions and academic standards, its periodic strikes have led to disruptions in academic calendars, affecting students’ progress and overall educational experiences.

Universities Operating Outside ASUU:

1. Covenant University

  • Location: Ota, Ogun State
  • Covenant University, founded by the Living Faith Church Worldwide, operates independently of ASUU. It’s known for its emphasis on spirituality, academic excellence, and a structured academic calendar.

2. Afe Babalola University

  • Location: Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State
  • Afe Babalola University, established by Chief Afe Babalola, operates without ASUU’s influence. The institution focuses on quality education, innovation, and maintaining a stable academic calendar.

3. Babcock University

  • Location: Ilishan-Remo, Ogun State.
  • Babcock University is a faith-based institution that operates independently of ASUU. It prioritizes academic excellence, character development, and a conducive learning environment.
RELATED POST ✅  Germany Tuition-free Universities and Scholarships for International Students

4. Benson Idahosa University

  • Location: Benin City, Edo State.
  • This private university, founded by the late Archbishop Benson Idahosa, functions without ASUU interference. It offers a diverse range of programs and maintains a stable academic calendar.

5. Igbinedion University

  • Location: Okada, Edo State
  • Established by Sir Gabriel Igbinedion, this institution operates without ASUU’s influence. It prides itself on academic excellence, research, and a consistent academic schedule.

6. Pan-Atlantic University

  • Location: Ibeju-Lekki, Lagos State
  • Pan-Atlantic University, affiliated with the Catholic Church, operates independently of ASUU. It emphasizes entrepreneurship, ethics, and a structured academic calendar.

7. Madonna University

  • Location: Okija, Anambra State
  • Madonna University, established by Rev. Fr. Edeh, maintains independence from ASUU and focuses on holistic education, character building, and regular academic sessions.

List of Nigerian Universities NOT under ASUU

Here’s a revised list of state universities not under ASUU and private universities in Nigeria unaffected by ASUU strikes:

State Universities Not Under ASUU:

  • Delta State University (DELSU)
  • Rivers State University (RSU)
  • Anambra State University (ANSU)
  • Abia State University (ABSU)
  • Osun State University (UNIOSUN)
  • Ekiti State University (EKSU)
  • Lagos State University (LASU)

Private Universities Not Under ASUU:

  • Achievers University, Owo
  • Adeleke University, Ede
  • Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti State
  • African University of Science & Technology, Abuja
  • Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan
  • Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin
  • Al-Qalam University, Katsina
  • American University of Nigeria, Yola
  • Augustine University
  • Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo
  • Baze University
  • Bells University of Technology, Otta
  • Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
  • Bingham University, New Karu
  • Bowen University, Iwo
  • Caleb University, Lagos
  • Caritas University, Enugu
  • Chrisland University
  • Covenant University Ota
  • Crawford University Igbesa
  • Crescent University
  • Edwin Clark University, Kaigbodo
  • Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin
  • Evangel University, Akaeze
  • Fountain University, Oshogbo
  • Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike – Enugu State
  • Gregory University, Uturu
  • Hallmark University, Ijebi Itele, Ogun
  • Hezekiah University, Umudi
  • Igbinedion University Okada
  • Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji
  • Kings University, Ode Omu
  • Kwararafa University, Wukari
  • Landmark University, Omu-Aran
  • Lead City University, Ibadan
  • Madonna University, Okija
  • Mcpherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo
  • Micheal & Cecilia Ibru University
  • Mountain Top University
  • Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja
  • Novena University, Ogume
  • Obong University, Obong Ntak
  • Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State
  • Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos
  • Paul University, Awka – Anambra State
  • Redeemer’s University, Ede
  • Renaissance University, Enugu
  • Rhema University, Obeama-Asa, Rivers State
  • Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom
  • Salem University, Lokoja
  • Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa
  • Southwestern University, Oku Owa
  • Summit University
  • Tansian University, Umunya
  • University of Mkar, Mkar
  • Veritas University, Abuja
  • Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State
  • Wesley University. of Science & Technology, Ondo
  • Western Delta University, Oghara Delta State
  • Christopher University Mowe
  • Kola Daisi University Ibadan, Oyo State
  • Anchor University Ayobo Lagos State
  • Dominican University Ibadan Oyo State
  • Legacy University, Okija Anambra State
  • Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo Cross River State
  • Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State
  • Coal City University Enugu State
  • Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State
  • Admiralty University, Ibusa Delta State
  • Spiritan University, Nneochi Abia State
  • Precious Cornerstone University, Oyo
  • PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Portharcourt
  • Atiba University Oyo
  • Skyline University, Kano
  • Greenfield University, Kaduna
  • Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences
  • Dominion University Ibadan, Oyo State
  • Trinity University Ogun State
  • Westland University Iwo, Osun State
RELATED POST ✅  The Ultimate 2024 List to Accredited Colleges of Education in Nigeria

Why Consider Universities Outside ASUU’s Influence?

  • Stable Academic Calendar: These universities often maintain consistent academic schedules without the disruptions caused by ASUU strikes.
  • Quality Education: They focus on providing quality education, innovative teaching methods, and holistic development.
  • Diverse Programs: Offer a wide range of programs across various fields, catering to different academic interests.
  • Infrastructure and Facilities: We often have modern facilities and infrastructure to support learning and research.


While ASUU’s efforts are aimed at improving the Nigerian educational system, its intermittent strikes have prompted students and parents to seek alternatives for uninterrupted academic pursuits. Universities operating independently of ASUU offer stability, quality education, and holistic development, making them attractive options for those seeking a seamless academic experience.

For students aspiring to excel in their academic endeavors without the disruptions caused by union strikes, considering these universities could be a prudent choice for a stable and fulfilling educational journey.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *